NEW YEAR 2017

Hey guys. It’s nine days into the new year and i haven’t write anything in here. Procrastination sucks! This will mark the first entry of 2017 and it is the compulsory new year’s resolution post. sigh i know right?

So lets get right into it !!

write more on this blog – i aim to at least write one post every week. i noticed that my writing ability to be not what it used to when i was younger. i’m kinda embarrassed by this because one would become better as one age, not worse.

Read 10 books – last year, my goal was to read 15 books. i neglected this up until the 10th month, roughly. so i worked out the math and said ‘i can do this if i read a book per week till end of the year’. I wanted to read 8 books in 2 months! and i was quite optimistic about it too! well, it went according to plan, until the last week of December where I couldn’t keep up anymore, with two more books to go. i decided to forget about it and did cross stitching instead, haha. my downfall was that i wasn’t consistent. i should have read a book or two every month. So that’s what i’m gonna do this year. And i lowered my expectation to only 10 books so that it will be quite manageable.

Lose 20 kg – oh god, the dreaded lose weight resolution. i swear every person on the planet have this goal in common. well, this is self explanatory. i just throw in the number just to make it reachable. in reality, i need to lose more. but within a year, 20kg seem manageable. besides, losing weight too quickly is bad for you. it can come back faster and also have loose skin. who wants that? right now my biggest challenge is exercise. also festive food. now i vow to cut back and eliminate junk food and sugary soft drinks. also to eat less carbs/rice.

Learn languages (korean, spanish, german) – well i used to be very passionate about this stuff. i seemed to forget about it over the last couple of years. but i saw a potential in myself lately, while watching korean shows, that i can pick up some phrases quite easily. my mom wouldn’t notice any recurring words or phrases, but i can, and it was HER that watches all the korean things! she’s always surprised that i know some of the words. i just watched the translation, it’s not that hard! well maybe i have some ability that i didn’t know of that will make me learn languages naturally, who knows. well i can sorta put that to the test if i really try to master a freakin language!

Finish what i started – this goal is just in general. i noticed that i like starting a project, but i always left them unfinished. for example: my sewing projects, cross stitiching, blogpost, baking cookies, etc. well, i wanna finish them all. right now, i’m making a baju kurung moden for myself, and i’m picking up cross stitching again. i should just do it! i find that i need to just sit at the machine and just sew if i want to complete my sewing project.

Take care of my skin/body/face – this one is a funny one. i actually wrote down ‘use body cream and face cream’ and ‘wear makeup more often’ in my notes. then i simplify it to this one. i realized that i’m turning 30 this month. I’M 30!!! yikes. i really need to take better care of myself. i noticed lately that my skin has been acting up, with random dry patches popping up on my skin and also the dreaded skin tags and wrinkles. i’m not a normally vain person, but this sudden change kinda freaked me out. and i’m not even that old. so i need to take care of my body more now.

Find a man – this makes me seem so desperate, haha!

Seriously though. The overall theme of this year is personal development. last year has been more of risk taking and be more with other people. it was very outwardly. i find myself trying to fit in and please other people. at the beginning it was fun and i liked belonging to a group or team. but along the way, i’ve realized that i feel more at ease working alone or with a partner. any more, i would feel stifled. sometimes i couldn’t think for myself and i found myself just following others even though i didn’t feel like it.

but the problem with doing things by myself is that, i’m too relaxed and tend to be contented with whatever progress i made, even if it’s small. that makes me stagnant and i feel okay with it. personally i don’t think it’s a bad trait. it’s just the world i live in right now, it demands competitiveness. that is not in my nature. so it helps if there’s someone who’s willing to work with me so they can push me to be my very best. kinda like, lighting fire under my butt, so to speak. bottom line is, i need other people to be successful. this is where a business partner or a best friend comes in. also, networking is key. i learned that through my failed business venture last year. i’m grateful for that experience, because even though we didn’t work as business partners, but they continue to be my friends and we can support each other in the future.

wow i haven’t written this long in a while! it’s 3:30 AM and i think i’m gonna stop here. i may expand on this post in a later date. this is fun! i’ve forgotten how fun it is to write a long rambly post.

hopefully i’ll write again here soon!

Leave a comment